(e)Book Read! The Woman in White

Wilkie Collins, The Woman in White (1859).

First sentence: “This is the story of what a Woman’s patience can endure, and what a Man’s resolution can achieve.”

P. 99: “I doubted for a moment whether I ought to follow and speak to her or not.”

Last sentence: “Marian was the good angel of our lives – let Marian end our Story.”

I have to admit that until a couple of months (or perhaps even a year) ago, I had never heard of Wilkie Collins, but when I started reading book blogs and bookish news, his name popped up now and then.  The title The Woman in White especially appealed to me and when Erin of Erin Reads talked about reading this book for Reading Buddies in November, I knew I had to participate.

My reading started rather slow, 10 pages the first day, and two days nothing because of being rather busy with other stuff.  But when I did start reading seriously, I couldn’t stop.  I really loved the rather romantic and yet exciting story told in a fluent style, I loved that different parts were told by different people and I adored some characters.   Of course the story plays in the 19th century and many of the events and characters would not be believable in a contemporary setting, but that, for me, is the biggest appeal of books like this one.

If you haven’t read anything by Wilkie Collins and you love 19th century stories, I sure would advice you to do it now.

This was the 10th book I read for the Classics Project 2011 and the 14th for the 2011 E-Book Challenge.

9 Comments

  1. I enjoyed this book too. Glad you tried it. I think Wilkie Collins was a friend of Charles Dickens, not sure, something like that. He wasn’t as famous but he’s written a few interesting books. I also enjoyed The Moonstone (review on my blog) but I found that quite a slow read, slower than TWIW if I remember well.

    • Yes, I think I read that somewhere too, Judith, about Dickens and Collins. I am going to try The Moonstone in a few weeks or months, I think.
      Thanks for your comment.

  2. I’m glad to hear you liked it. It was brought to the All Hallow’s Read event I hosted and I was sad not to have received it. I’m planning on reading it next year during my A to Z reading challenge.

    • Yes, Jessica, I liked it very much. So much that I will certainly try some other books of Collins. The A to Z challenge sounds really … well, challenging 🙂
      Thanks for your comment.

Trackbacks

  1. The Woman in White (Part Two) « Ardent Reader
  2. Reading Buddies: The Woman in White-First Epoch | The Cheap Reader
  3. Reading Buddies: The Woman in White-Second Epoch | The Cheap Reader
  4. Reading Buddies: The Woman In White- Third Epoch and Book Review | The Cheap Reader
  5. (E-)Book Read! NO NAME by Wilkie Collins | The Books of Life!

Leave a comment