Books – The Classic Tales Podcast

Podcasts© leaguefreak.com

I discovered podcasts some years ago, when I bought my first iPod, and have loved them ever since.  Of course, most of the podcasts I regularly listen to are all book-related: Here are a few of the ones I like most, in alphabetical order (because I honestly could not say which are my favourites of these): Adventure with Words, BookRiot, Books and Authors, Books on the Nightstand, Hear… Read This, NPR Books Podcast, The Bookrageous Podcast, The Guardian Books Podcast, The Readers, and World Book Club.  You can find all of these in the iTunes Store.

But there is one podcast I would like to give some attention to today, because it is, I think, rather unique and worth wile listening to, Classic Talesespecially if you like classics: The Classic Tales Podcast, brought by B.J. Harrison, who releases a new episode once a week and who does a good job reading some famous, and less famous classic tales and novels.  Lately I listened to The Picture of Dorian Gray (released in 8 parts), by Oscar Wilde and The Island of Dr. Moreau (released in 5 parts) by H.G. Wells.  In the past I enjoyed listening to, among many others, The Lost World, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Anthem by Ayn Rand, A Room with a View by E.M. Forster, The Wizard of Oz by Frank L. Baum, The Call of the Wild by Jack London, The 39 Steps by John Buchan, The Mark of Zorro by Johnston McCulley, Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne, Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain, Right ho, Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse, ….

B.J. Harrison also reads many short stories by e.g. H.P Lovecraft, Edgar Allan Poe, Rudyard Kipling, G.K. Chesterton, Arthur Conan Doyle, and so on.

In short, if you do not know this podcast, you should go and check it out; here you can find an overview of the podcasts released over the latest months.  I am sure that, if I hadn’t discovered this podcast, I wouldn’t have read many of these classic stories.

Leave a Reply

