Authors – Haruki Murakami

Murakami Wikipedia

I first discovered the Japanese author Haruki Murakami when a Belgian magazine offered a reduced copy of his 1999 novel Sputnik Sweatheart.  I liked the book, but thought nothing special of it.  Then I heard about the title Kafka on the shore, published in Japanese in 2002.  Because this title intrigued me, I bought the book (in Dutch) and read it, and loved it.  I wanted more.

But, and I am sure everyone who loves books, recognizes this, Murakami kind of slipped out of my mind, because, well yes, there are a lot of other books to read.  And so next thing I know, Murakami has published a trilogy 1Q84 (2009-2010), and after some hesitation (it is a lot to read), and because @HannieJe, with whom I have a little Bookclub for Two, also wants to read the three books, I buy them and read them together with her (one a month).  And they are good.  Really good.  I begin to feel Murakami might become one of my favourite authors.

And he definitely does so, after I have read, again with Hannie, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage (2013).  This also is a fantastic book with a great story and intriguing characters, written in a beautiful prose.

If you haven’t read him, I advise you to do so.  I still have a lot of books by him to read, and I hope I will enjoy them all. One thing is for sure, however, he will always be one of my favourites.

 

Leave a Reply

