A William Shakespeare Read! MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING

William Shakespeare, Much Ado About Nothing (1598-1599).

I found that (almost) all works of Shakespeare are published as (free) audiobooks, so I think my personal challenge here will go well.  I got this recording from Librivox, a site that offers free texts and/or audiobooks of books in the public domain.

From Wikipedia: Benedick and Beatrice are engaged in a very “merry war”; they both talk a mile a minute and proclaim their scorn for love, marriage, and each other. In contrast, Claudio and Hero are sweet young people who are rendered practically speechless by their love for one another. By means of “noting” (which sounds the same as “nothing,” and which is gossip, rumour, and overhearing), Benedick and Beatrice are tricked into confessing their love for each other, and Claudio is tricked into rejecting Hero at the altar. However, Dogberry, a Constable who is a master of malapropisms, discovers the evil trickery of the villain, Don John. In the end, Don John is captured and everyone else joins in a dance celebrating the marriages of the two couples.

7 Comments

  1. Do you prefer to hear rather than read Shakespeare? I think I might try that. I’ve been thinking of getting an audiobook, for on the bicycle – I’m cycling a bit these days.

    • I definitely prefer to listen to any of Shakespeare’s books, because I find the language it is written to difficult to read myself. You have to read it very slow and carefully, and I don’t have enough patience for that. You should try it, Judith, I think it would be great listening to a Shakespeare play while you are bycicling

      • I downloaded A Midsummer Night’s Dream and put it on my iPod. I’m curious to see whether I’ll like it.

  2. Hello Carpe Diem Blogger,
    Much Ado is one of my favorite Shakespeare Comedy, I just like the innocence of his comedies so much. And I agree with you, Shakespeare should be heard, not read.
    First time on your blog, and I liked it a lot! you have a very interesting taste in books. Following you now!
    Please do visit my book blog, and if you like it, please do follow!
    Thank you!

    • I have to say that it took me a long time to finally appreciate Shakespeare… During the years I tried again and again to read his plays, but I always gave up after some pages. It was just too hard. But listening to them is quite different, and I have to admit I do enjoy it now (although I am afraid he will never be a favourite of mine).
      Thanks for your kind comments, I will go and check out your blog.

  3. My son loves Shakespeare – he took 2 Shakespeare classes in college – but I’m not smart enough to understand his work.

    • I don’t understand everything either, but both listening (in stead of reading) and reading a synopsis of the story and some background information help me a lot. Two things are certain: I will never be a Shakespeare expert and he will never he my favourite author.
      Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

