Test Windows Live Writer

Although I didn’t officially participate in the last Bloggiesta, I have been Windows Live Writerworking on my blog that whole weekend.  By following some participants on Twitter, I stumbled across a Mini Challenge that caught my eye, What is Windows Live Writer and How Can it Help You, organized by The Reading Housewives of Indiana.

From the moment I started my blog, I used WordPress.com, and I cannot say I am displeased with it, but it has its shortcomings.

The most annoying were that I couldn’t use another font or change the size of fonts, and that I couldn’t change the colour of my texts.




The inserting of a horizontal line also was problematic, not to mention the fact that I couldn’t seem to make a template for posts of the same type that I regularly write. 

So I decided to give Windows Live Writer a try.

Consider this post only as a test…

[tweetmeme only_single=”false”]
2 Comments

  1. It looks like it was a successful test! All free blogging platforms have their limitations. I’d like to figure out how to put a box around text on WP.

    • The test was succesful in some points (e.g. fonts, horizontal lines and colours)… But not overall I’m afraid. I cannot make templates there either. I thought templates were like a sort of formula pages that have all the things for your lay-out, so you only had to use this template and fill in title, author, synopsis, etc. (I am not making this very clear, I know) I manage to do this on WordPress, I call them Concepts, and keep them as drafts. Then, when I need one of these concepts, I start a new post by copying one of these saved drafts. But I thought there would be an easier way to do this on WLW, but it seems there isn’t.
      I also have been looking how to put a box around text, but I don’t think it is possible.
      But I’ll keep trying.
      Thanks for your comment, Kathy.

Leave a Reply

