Book Read! WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT by Sarah Winman

Sarah Winman, When God was a Rabbit (2011).

First sentence: “I divide my life into two parts.”

P. 99: “My father looked disappointed; he thought his exciting declaration might have elicited more emotion, and he wondered if he really knew his children; a thought that would trouble him throughout the coming years.”

Last sentence: “I handed her the computer, and she started to type.”

From GoodReads: This is a book about a brother and a sister. It’s a book about secrets and starting over, friendship and family, triumph and tragedy, and everything in between. More than anything, it’s a book about love in all its forms.

In a remarkably honest and confident voice, Sarah Winman has written the story of a memorable young heroine, Elly, and her loss of innocence-a magical portrait of growing up and the pull and power of family ties. From Essex and Cornwall to the streets of New York, from 1968 to the events of 9/11, When God Was a Rabbit follows the evolving bond of love and secrets between Elly and her brother Joe, and her increasing concern for an unusual best friend, Jenny Penny, who has secrets of her own. With its wit and humour, engaging characters whose eccentricities are adroitly and sometimes darkly drawn, and its themes of memory and identity, When God Was a Rabbit is a love letter to true friendship and fraternal love.

I read this book because of the Twitterleesclub (in Dutch), a new initiative whereby 5 books will be read throughout the year that will be discussed on Twitter (#LeesTweeps: the coming dates are April 2nd, when this book will be discussed, June 4th, September 3rd, November 5th and January 7th 2013).

I loved When God was a Rabbit, a story about friendship, growing up, love… and life itself.  I am an only child, and when I read about how a relation between siblings can be, I am a bit jealous (although I know not all siblings have such a close relation as the ones in this book).  Elly and Joe understand each other without words, and when this temporarily changes after an accident, she feels totally alone and insecure.

Not only the story was really good, I also thought the writing was beautiful.  So, this was 5 stars for me.  I cannot wait for Sarah Winman‘s second book.

Other reviews of this book you can find at Leeswammes’ Blog, Farm Lane Books Blog and Savidge Reads, In Dutch: JannyAn’s Blog.

If you want to know which books I read so far this year, here is the list.

4 Comments

  1. Glad to hear that you enjoyed this book! As you could see from my review, I was quite underwhelmed by this book. But I think I’m one of the few.

    Maybe I’ll join in on the Twitter discussion of the book, although by now I don’t remember the details (and I gave my copy away).

    • Yes, Judith, I know you didn’t really loved this book. But I am glad I read it, and if I have a chance, I will also participate in the discussion. It is not that often that something like this happens in Dutch.

  2. This sounds amazing!!

    • It was a very, very good read, bermudaonion. If you haven’t read it, I would highly recommend it. It has a bit of everything: love, friendship, family, even some suspence, and every emotion that goes with all these things.
      Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

