2012 is here!

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL OF YOU!

A new year means new resolutions and challenges (and a new theme)….

I have to admit I always felt rather smug when I saw the number of unread books of some people, because my own TBR-pile always seemed manageable (some 30-35 books).  That is, until I started listing all (and I definitely mean ALL) my books on GoodReads and LibraryThing.  It seemed I (unconsciously) skipped counting my e-books because, well… they were not on my shelf of books-to-be-read here in my home library.  So, I didn’t see them…. and it seemed as if they didn’t really count… (or how one’s mind can fool oneself).

But now that they are listed, I feel rather panicky (see My complete TBR-list here).  I have 32 books on my TBR-list on LibraryThing and (oh, my) 400+ (four hundred and eight books!!!!) on my GoodReads TBR-list.  This is frightening, so I have to do something about it.  I really am drowning in books….

I know I will never be able to read more than 60 or 70 books in a year, so I don’t pretend to believe this TBR-list will be more manageable next year, but I sure will try to make a dent in this pile.  And therefore I will only participate in two (obvious) challenges next year: the Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2012, hosted by My Reader’s Block and the 2012 EBook Challenge, hosted by Workaday Reads.  I will try (ahem, ahem, this is a serious commitment I make here) not to buy too much new books, but of course I cannot promise not buying any.

These are the levels you can chose from in the Mount TBR Reading Challenge:

Pike’s Peak: Read 12 books from your TBR piles
Mt. Vancouver: Read 25 books from your TBR piles
Mt. Ararat: Read 40 books from your TBR piless
Mt. Kilimanjaro: Read 50 books from your TBR piles
El Toro: Read 75 books from your TBR piles
Mt. Everest: Read 100+ books from your TBR piles

I am going to try for the Mt. Kilimanjaro level: 50 books…

The rules for this challenge:

  • Once you choose your challenge level, you are locked in for at least that many books. If you find that you’re on a mountain-climbing roll and want to tackle a taller mountain, then you are certainly welcome to upgrade.
  • Challenge runs from January 1 to December 31, 2012.
  • You may sign up anytime from now until November 30th, 2012.
  • Books must be owned by you prior to January 1, 2012. No ARCs (none), no library books. No rereads. [To clarify–based on a question raised–the intention is to reduce the stack of books that you have bought for yourself or received as presents {birthday, Christmas, “just because,” etc.}. Audiobooks may count if they are yours and they are one of your primary sources of backlogged books.]
  • Books may be used to count for other challenges as well.
  • Feel free to submit your list in advance (as incentive to really get those books taken care of) or to tally them as you climb.
  • A blog and reviews are not necessary to participate.
  • A progress site for reviews will go up in January.

The levels of the 2012 EBook Challenge are:

  1. Floppy disk – 5 ebooks
  2. CD – 10 ebooks
  3. DVD – 25 ebooks
  4. Memory stick – 50 ebooks
  5. Hard drive – 75 ebooks
  6. Server – 100 ebooks
  7. Human brain – 150 ebooks

Here also I will try for 50 books, the Memory stick level.

Rules for this challenge are:

  • This challenge will run from Jan 1, 2012 – Dec 31, 2012.
  • Anyone can join, you don’t need to be a blogger. If you don’t have a blog, feel free to sign-up in the comments. You can post reviews to any book site (i.e. Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, Goodreads, etc).
  • Any genre or length of book counts, as long as it is in ebook format.
  • You can list your books in advance or just put them in a wrap-up post. If you list them, feel free to change them as the mood takes you.
  • When you sign up in the linky, put the direct link to your post about joining the E-Book Reading Challenge.
  • You can move up levels, but no moving down.
  • Sign-ups will be open until Dec 15, 2012, so feel free to join at any time throughout the year.

I am not going to list any books, because I have an abundance of choice, and what I read will depend upon the mood I am in at that moment.

I am really looking forward to this reading year, because I hope I will see the difference in my TBR-lists on December 31, 2012.  After all… all these books are shouting to me:

4 Comments

  1. Good luck with the challenge. I hope you can reduce your tbr a bit. Do some readathons or take a reading holiday if you can. On the other hand, isn’t it ncie to have lots of books you can choose from? 😉

    • Thanks! I do hope I can reduce the number of titles on the list a bit, but you are right, Judith. It would be awful not to have an abundance of books to choose from.
      And those e-books are tempting, because it is so easy do download them.

  2. I don’t have any e-book in my possession and do not intend to have one. I like the smell of the paper, the feeling of the pages running through my fingers, the layout that catch my attention, the fact that the appearance of the book changes while I am reading it. It starts to belong to me, it gets dog-eared and shabby and makes part of myself, I can make notifications in it and five years later wonder why the hell this was important for me at that time.
    I love libraries and bookstores and spend hundreds of euros to acquire these little treasures and therefore must gradually buy new bookshelves. I like Dutch books, French books but also English books. Masses of them are about art, ancient art, contemporary art, art theory, but also about art education and cultural studies. I have masses books to read and have the firmest intention to attack the pile of little dear ones longing in my study, in the kitchen, in the living room, in the loo, near the bathtub. Today however 1st of January 2012, after having a succulent meal yesterday evening of oysters and a marvelous grilled lobster I am reading ‘Garçon un cent d’huîtres . Balzac et la table’ by Anka Muhlstein..
    Next one champing with impatience ‘Nicolaas Rockox 1560-1640. burgemeester van de gouden eeuw’ by Leen Huet and Jan Grieten.
    Good that there are some holidays and that this summer our car booth will carry lots of books to be read in the shadow of the ‘micocoulier’ (hackberry) with a glass of cooled white wine within reach.
    To all readers of unread books (papers versions and e-formats) : go for it this year !

    • I also prefer paper books, Annemie, but due to a shortage of space, I am obliged to read some books as e-books, especially the classics. But, I agree, nothing is nicer than the feel of paper and the smell of a new book…
      Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

