(e)Book Read! The Case of Jennie Brice

Mary Roberts Rinehart, The Case of Jennie Brice (1913).

First sentence: “We have just had another flood, bad enough, but only a foot or two of water on the first floor.”

Last sentence: “I think I shall do it.”

I needed something light and short to read, and this short story was ideal.  A nice, short and relaxing read. Mary Roberts Rinehart (August 12, 1876-September 22, 1958)  has written other short stories, and I will definitely read some more of them when I am in the mood.

This was the 18th book I read for the 2011 E-Book Challenge! and the 17th for the 2011 Vintage Mystery Reading Challenge!

3 Comments

  1. I’ve never heard of this author but I like that lovely old-fashioned cover. Of course, you didn’t see much of it while reading the ebook.

    I’ve got an ebook that is to do with Christmas – should start it today. But I’m also enjoying my (slow-read) Cutting for Stone…

    • I also didn’t know the author, Judith, but when looking for free e-books, you’ll find her. That’s the scary thing about the Internet, you find out that you only know so much. The cover is beautiful, isn’t it? I liked it too… I was planning to start a reread of A Christmas Carol today, but it is after 5 p.m. now, and I haven’t started yet.
      Thanks for your comment.

      • Tomorrow is Christmas, too, Nadine – so go ahead with A Christmas Carol!

Leave a Reply

