Book Read! Her Fearful Symmetry

Audrey Niffenegger, Her Fearful Symmetry (2009).

First sentence: “Elspeth died while Robert was standing in front of a vending machine watching tea shoot into a small plastic cup.”

P. 99: “Each twin wore a long white scarf and wheeled a suitcase behind her.”

Last sentence: “Days went by, and at last she understood that he would not return at all.

I won this book by participating in the Back of the Book challenge, organized by Leeswammes.  I chose this book from the list of the competition, and I am glad I picked out this one.  It was an interesting and unusual read, with a topic that I wouldn’t normally choose.  Like the cover says: a dark and delicious read.

3 Comments

  1. Glad you enjoyed the book, Nadine! It is indeed an unusual read.

    *SPOILER* *SPOILER* *SPOILER* *SPOILER* *SPOILER*
    Did you not mind the body switching thing? I thought that was very odd.

    • Yes, I thought that was very strange, but I saw it coming…
      SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER
      I had a feeling it would end like this from the moment Valentina ‘reasoned’ Elspeth and Robert into doing what she wanted, though I have to say I didn’t really understand why she had to choose such a drastic method to change her life. But I enjoyed the story immensely because it was completely different from the books I usually read. Thanks again for this, Judith!

      • My pleasure! I was also unsure why she did what she did – weren’t there ANY other options? This was over the top and very unlikely (given that it was possible). But it made for an interesting read for sure.

Leave a Reply

