Book Read! A Visit from the Goon Squad

Jennifer Egan, A Visit from the Goon Squad (2010).

First sentence:”It began the usual way, in the bathroom of the Lassimo Hotel.”

P. 99: “Bennie went around to the other side of the wet black oval of his desk.”

Last sentence: “But it was another girl, young and new to the city, fiddling with her keys.”

This was one of those books that got a lot of attention, so I decided I had to read it.  But it didn’t work for me!  I couldn’t connect with any of the characters and I didn’t get interested in the story at all.  Maybe because Egan jumps with each chapter to a different main character and viewpoint and a different period in time, past and present.  However, I thought the chapter brought as a PowerPoint presentation worked well.

This is the 6th book I read for the Buy One Book And Read It 2011! Challenge. And with this I completed this challenge.

2 Comments

  1. So you did finish the book? Well done. It doesn’t sound like a book I’d enjoy although I am curious about it, too. 🙂

    • Yes Judith, I finished it, though am not sure why… Perhaps because I hoped it would get better eventually, which it didn’t. I cannot advise you on this one… you will have to see for yourself.

Leave a Reply

