Book Read! The Book Thief

Markus Zusak, The Book Thief (2005).

First sentence: “I am in all truthfulness attempting to be cheerful about this topic though most people find themselves hindered in believing me, no matter my protestations.”

P. 99: “At first it was a solitary job, which she never complained about.”

Last sentence: “I am haunted by humans.”

This was so beautiful…  Although the topic of WW II has been (over)exploited, Zusak has found an original way to tell about the horrors of the war and of the Nazi-regime in Germany.  Liesel is too young to realise everything that is going on, but she feels the danger and the anxiety and comes across enough misery in her own life to know that some things are utterly wrong.  Luckily there is her friendship with Rudy and the love of her foster parents, especially her foster-father Hans, that help her cope with the world.

If you haven’t read this book, do so now.  You won’t be sorry.

This was the 7th book I read for the Off The Shelf! Challenge.

4 Comments

  1. I didn’t like this book as much as some other people, but like you I also liked it that WWII was shown from a totally different angle. I didn’t know there were normal people living in nazi Germany – so to speak. I always thought they were all bad, blabla. But of course, that is nonsense when you think about it. Anyway, this book made me think differently about the people of Germany in WWII. 🙂

    • Oh, Judith, I am sorry you didn’t like it that much… I really loved it. But on the other side, luckily as we say in Dutch: smaken verschillen!

  2. Funny… I am currently at a womens retreat and the lady I am talking to has this book with her. I was just telling her how much I enjoyed it and then seen your post!

    • Yes, Sheila, it is a good book. It is a book I wouldn’t have read if I didn’t follow all those great (American and English and Australian) bookblogs. Here in Belgium I think ‘nobody’ knows about it.
      Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

