(E)Book Read! Sukkwan Island

David Vann, Sukkwan Island (2010).

First Sentence: “I had a Morris Mini with your mom.”

P. 99: “Roy standing there in the drizzle felt things he could not make sense of.”

Last Sentence: “He just hadn’t understood anything in time.”

I started this book at around 10.30 pm and I couldn’t put it down. It was so good. A father, Jim and Roy, his son are going to live for a year on an uninhabited island in Alaska. This was the father’s idea and the son isn’t really happy at first, especially when he realizes that his father is feeling very down and acts unstable. At the end of Part One, the inevitable and yet unexpected thing happens, and from then on everything seems to fall apart.

Thanks to Leeswammes I read this book, I hadn’t even heard of the author before. Now I am sure I will look for other books by Vann. You can read Leeswammes’ review of Sukkwan Island here.

This is the 11th book I read for the 2011 E-Book Challenge!

Leave a Reply

