Book Read! How to live safely in a science fictional universe

Charles Yu,  How to live safely in a science fictional universe (2010).

First sentence: “There is just enough space here for one person to live indefinitely, or at least that’s what the operation manual says.”

P. 99: “He can’t get mad, he doesn’t have that feature.”

Last sentence: “Stretch it out, live inside of it.”

I am not sure what I think about this book;  I loved some parts of  it and didn’t love other parts, if that makes any sense.  Yu wrote an ingenious story about time and identity, but at some points I felt lost; I couldn’t follow what he was talking about.  Main character is Charles Yu himself, and the parts about his family and the things that happened between his parents and himself I thought were really good writing.  The technical details were a bit too much for me, though.

But,  I liked the book and if I had to give it a rating, it would get seven out of 10.   So, if you like dystopia, experiments with time and questions about identity and the self, you definitely should read this book.

This book is the 5th I read for the Off The Shelf! Challenge.

2 Comments

  1. I do love dystopia and experiments with time. I don’t care so much about identity issues. The book sounds complex., but I might try for myself. It seems interesting too.

    • Yes, Judith, I think you would like it better than I did. But I am glad I read it, one has to go out of one’s own comfort zone sometimes.
      Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

