(E-)Book Read! The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (CP 2011)

Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1885).

First sentence: “You don’t know about me without you have read a book by the name of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer; but that ain’t no matter.”

P. 99: “So they said I could have a home there as long as I wanted it.”

Last sentence: “I been there before.”

This was a book I ment to read for a long time, but  never got to it.  But now that I have committed myself to the Classics project 2011 Challenge and the 2011 E-Book Challenge, I saw no reason to postpone reading it any longer.  Although it didn’t take me very long to read it, I cannot say I really loved it.  The book tells about the adventures of a poor boy, his growing up in a tough world and his friendship with a “nigger”.   I write this word on purpose, because I have heard that the plan is to take it out of any new editions, and I think this is wrong.  You have to see this book in the context, place and time when it was written, and the word definitely fits into these.  Twain tried with The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn to make people see black people differently, not as things or animals anymore, but as human beings.  I liked this aspect of the book very much… but the story in itself didn’t appeal to me, maybe because the world depicted in it is so different from the one I am living in now.   I doubt that is the real reason, however, because I loved other books that told about even stranger worlds.   Perhaps it is because the world of Huckleberry Finn is in essence not that different after all?

This is the 5th book I read for the Classics Project 2011 and the 10th for the 2011 E-Book Challenge!

4 Comments

  1. I read this, but it’s so long ago that I can’t comment on how I liked it. Since it’s quite a classic, I guess it’s nice that you finally read it. This happens to me often enough, I don’t always like those must-read classics so much, but at least I know what people are talking about.

    Same here for you! 🙂

    • That’s one of the reasons why I read those classics, Judith! The fact that you know what people are talking about. But the main reason is that much of these classics have been very important for contemporary novels. Thanks for your comment!

  2. I didn’t really care for Huck Finn, mostly because there wasn’t one character in the story that I could identify with. I found myself thinking that Huck was a whiny brat, and my thoughts on other characters weren’t much better. I understand its role in history and as a social commentary; it just didn’t do it for me.

    • I quite agree with you, Grace. All the characters in this book were in one way or another kind of weird. The main reason I read it is because it is a classic and it played an important role in social history. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

