(E-)Book Read! Bleak House

Charles Dickens, Bleak House (1853).

First sentence: “London.  Michaelmas term lately over, and the Lord Chancellor sitting in Lincoln’s Inn Hall.”

P. 99: “I could not help it; I tried very hard, but being alone with that benevolent presence, and meeting his kind eyes, and feeling so happy and so honoured there, and my heart so full…”

Last sentence: “But I know that my dearest little pets are very pretty, and that my darling is very beautiful, and that my husband is very handsome, and that my guardian has the brightest and most benevolent face that ever was seen, and that they can very well do without much beauty in me  – even supposing -”

Bleak House, for me, was an unknown novel of Dickens.  I read it because it was on Belgian television as a series some time ago which I recorded and am now watching.  I liked the book very much; it is what I should call a typical Dickens story, with much cynism and satire, with weird characters who are either very good or very bad, and with a happy ending.  With this book Dickens wanted to protest against the inadequacy and even stupidity of the law system of the Chancelory in England.  But this protest is merely a background for the story of Esther, Ada, Richard, Lady and Sir Dedlock and many other characters.  If you like Dickens, you should read this book too.

Other thoughts on this book: Frisbee: A Book Journal.

This  book fits into two challenges I’m participating in: the 2011 E-Book Challenge! and the Classics Project 2011.

Leave a Reply

