(e)Book Read! Delirium

Lauren Oliver, Delirium (2011).

First sentence: “It has been sixty-four years since the president and the Consortium identified love as a disease, and forty-three since the scientists perfected a cure.”

P. 99: “Maybe he’s only regretful for the things he lost after the cure.”

Last sentence: “They cannot take it.”

Again this is a book I heard so much about both on Twitter and on many bookblogs, that I really wanted to read it, and when I had the opportunity to get it through NetGalley, I didn’t hesitate.

And I was glad I read it.  I think you could consider this as a modern version of 1984 by George Orwell.  A society where everything is regulated by the government, where everyone is cured on his or her 18th birthday from the dangerous disease love, and where people live their lives without emotions, without anxiety, and so on.  But, as Lena discovers in the months leading to her 18th birthday, also without freedom and real happiness.  Because, feeling happiness is only possible when one can feel unhappy too.

At first the idea of a society like the one described in this book seems far-fetched.  But once you start to think about it, you’ll realize, at least I did, that a lot of people would consent to such a thing willingly, if they were brainwashed to do so.  And you would have to have a lot of courage to not go with the flow.  Scary thought.

This book is the first of a trilogy; I certainly will read the other two books.  I want to know what happens to Lena.

This is the third book I read for the Buy One Book and Read It 2011! Challenge and the sixth one fitting into the 2011 E-Book Challenge.

2 Comments

  1. That’s a great recommendation. I’ve seen this book around and I thought: yes another YA book. But now I think this would be a good book to read. I love dystopia, as you probably know.

    • I think you will love it, Judith. I certainly did. And there are two more books to look forward to, …

Leave a Reply

