Book Read! Little Women

Louisa May Alcott, Little Women (1868).

First Sentence: “Christmas won’t be Christmas without any presents”, grumbled Jo, lying on the rug.

P. 99: “The garden had to be put in order, and each sister had a quarter of the little plot to do what she liked with.”

Last sentence: “”Oh, my girls, however long you may live, I never can wish you a greater happiness than this!”

I loved this book…  I saw the movie when I was young and recently again and that made me decide to go and buy the book.  And I was not dissapointed.  Off course this book is dated, but I think that when you read books like this, you must read them with the time they were written in your mind.  And then this is a beautiful story about love and growing up.  There is humour, morality, tragedy, and much more. So I laughed a little and shed a few tears while reading the story, and that’s what makes a book work for me (allthough there are books that don’t have these aspects and that work for me too).   And best of all, all’s well that ends well.  I love happy endings.

Other thoughts/reviews: The American Prospect.

The first book I read in 2011 fits into three of the challenges I participate in!  That’s a good start, I think.

5 Comments

  1. I’ve never seen the movie, I could imagine it’s a bit sugar-sweet? I liked (but not loved) the book. How nice it was just the right sort of book for you! And handy that it fits several challenges, that IS a good start.

    My TBR shelf has a little bit of space now, I’m proud to say. I did discard a book this morning after 50 pages – this weekend I had read AND finished another boring book, so this new one I was not going to suffer.

    • Yes, the book and the movie are both sugar-sweet, but when I am in the right mood (which is not always the case, I have to admit), I can quite appreciate it. At the moment my TBR-shelf is too small, I had to clear another shelf to put away my unread books.
      I started reading the brothers Karamazov (I hope I have the name right) by Dostoievsky, but I discarded that too. All those long names that resemble each other; after 50 pages I didn’t remember who was who. Though I always find it difficult to stop reading a book, I thought now that life is too short to read something you do not really enjoy (perhaps because I am 50 years old now 🙂 ).
      Thanks for your comment and retweet.

      • Absolutely, Nadine! Especially now I have a blog and look at other people’s blogs, I realize just how many books there really are, and how many look interesting. I know I can’t read them all so I certainly don’t want to spend much time on mediocre books.

      • It’s scary sometimes, the amount of books I hear and read about and want to read myself. Before I was on Twitter and followed all those blogs, I only heard about books through radio, television, a magazine or two, and the newspaper. I thought then that I knew pretty well what books were out there. But, oh my, was I wrong…

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Book Read! Little Women « The Books of Life! -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

