Busy busy busy!

I have been busy lately.  Not only have I been completely wrapped up in my iPad for almost a week, but I also started to use a new piece of software (Zotero) that should come in handy for when I’m writing my PhD.  Because I had gathered a whole lot of PDF’s already, it takes a lot longer than I expected to enter them into Zotero.  But when that job is done, I am all ready to start researching and reading.  I’m afraid there won’t be much time left to read novels, but I will try to read one every fortnight.

But what I wanted to write about is (I know, I’m really obsessed with this thing) my iPad.  I got it about two weeks ago and I’m still delighted with it.  The iPad in itself is amazing, but what really makes it so wonderful are all the apps.  Therefore I wanted to let you know what apps I started to use and what I think about them.  The great thing is that they are all for free.

First of all I wanted an app for reading my RSS feeds (all about literature and reading, art and philosophy).  On my desktop computer I use Google Reader and that works fine for me.  In the iTunes store I found Mobile RSS, that imports the feeds from Google Reader; I started using it and I was amazed.  It lets me read all my feeds in about a quarter of the time I spent on it on my PC.

For reading the news I installed xFeed, and that is okay… Perhaps I will look for some other app, because this one doesn’t give the time the news was posted.

Netvibes is another feed reader I use on my computer, and the mobile version is as good as the standard version.

Read It Later for iPad is much better than the version for PC; you can tag everything, and it works fine on Mobile RSS, Safari and XFeed.  The lay out is simply beautiful.

Another program I use on my computer is Evernote, where I keep articles, pictures and information about movies I want to see, new software or computer programs I like, tips for travelling and so on.  Evernote is compatible with the iPad so you can acces everything wherever you are (off course you have to be linked to the internet).

Then I wanted an app for Twitter.  First I chose the official Twitter app to start with, but because I use Tweetdeck on my computer and like that very much  I looked for something else.  First I tried Tweetdeck for iPad, but that really was no option.  It gives the feeds in a random order and I have the impression it doesn’t give all the feeds.  Then I read something about Twitterific, and I installed it right away.  And I must say, it is great.

But next to Twitterific, I couldn’t resist Flipboard.  This app turns your tweets into a kind of magazine you can flip through and I really love the look and feel of it.

I have installed the WordPress app, but haven’t used it yet.

Dropbox, that I use on my computer to save important files on-line, can be entered from the iPad, so that is something I use a lot.   Other apps I use to transfer files from my computer to my iPad are USB Disk, FileApp, PDF-notes and Documents 2.  But I have not used any of them yet, so I ‘ll have to see which one works best for me.   What I miss most is some app that lets you take notes in PDF-files; I have installed PDF-notes, but that only lets you scribble something on the PDF, you cannot type notes with it.

So far for the functional apps; but I also installed some fun ones, e.g. Wikipanion, Wikihood, WikiPlaces, Discover, Free Wi-Fi and Virtuoso.  For movies I use You Tube, VLC and IMDb, for books iBooks, Stanza, Wattpad and e-boek.org.

You can find all these apps on the iTunes store for free and since there are new releases every day, I think my list will grow in time.

6 Comments

  1. Wow, you seem to really like your iPad! I haven’t heard of all these applications you’re using, I must say. You keep in touch with the world in many ways it seems, more than me!

    Hope you keep having great fun with it all. Keeping very busy. 🙂

    • I know, I’m a ‘little’ over-enthousiastic about it! But it is really amazing. The problem with me is that I’m interested in a wide variety of subjects: books off course, movies (though in a lesser degree), art, philosophy, design, history, interior-decorating, computer-things (both hard- and software), technology, … But it takes a lot of time to stay up to date with everything, so I try to find apps and/or software that makes that easier to do… But still a day has only 24 hours, and there are other chores that have to be done! 🙂
      Thanks for your comment.

  2. Wow, you are very enthusiastic! Are maybe I should say impassioned! Have heared good things about the Ipad but unfortunately I cant have everything I want to have. Choices, choices …… Hope your passion for the Ipad will keep on, but hope that you won’t neglect books ….. 😉

    • Yes I am really totally wrapped up in this iPad, but it is really amazing. And that I have now both an iPad an an e-book reader is the result of a coincidence. For a while now I was trying to decide which of both I would have the most use of; the price of the iPad was what really kept me back from buying it. So I was setting some money aside and postponed buying anything. But then my husband told me he was going to buy me an iPad for my fiftieth birthday, (problem of deciding was solved) and so I took my savings and bought the e-book reader. And I really love that too.
      Thanks for your comment.

      • Fiftieth? I thought you were about half that age. You sound very young! 🙂

        I’m only a little younger than you, just in case you wondered.

      • Thank you very much…! That’s the (dis)advantage of the internet, you really don’t know who you’re talking with..

Leave a Reply

