(e)Books read! The Woodlanders (CP 2011)

Thomas Hardy, The Woodlanders, 1887.

First sentence: “The rambler who, for old association or other reasons, should trace the forsaken coach-road running almost in a meridional line from Bristol to the south shore of England, would find himself during the latter half of his journey in the vicinity of some extensive woodlands, interspersed with apple-orchards.”

P. 99: “Melbury had purchased some standing timber from her a long time before, and now that the date had come for felling it he was left to pursue almost his own course.”

Last sentence: “But no, no, my love, I never can forget ‘ee; for you was a GOOD man, and did good things!”

I loved this book;  it takes you into this specific atmosphere that I really like and that is quite typical for many English books from the late ninenteenth-early twentieth century.  Perhaps you could compare it with the novels of Jane Austen, although in this book the emphasis lies not so much with character-development, the story is the most important aspect.

This was the first book I read on my e-reader and I have to say I kind of liked it.  After a few minutes at the most I completely forgot I was reading on a device instead of in a paper edition.  I could hold the e-reader in my left hand and push the button for going to the next page with the thumb of that hand.  One thing only; when I took the reader in my hand in the store to feel its weight, I was pleased that it was weighing next to nothing.  But when I had put in the battery at home, it was weighing considerably more, so that after reading for an hour or so, my left hand did hurt a bit.  But perhaps one gets use to that after a while.

Leave a Reply

