Bought BeBook!

After thinking and rethinking buying an e-book reader I finally decided on friday I would buy one and immediately went to the store.  And here it is… my BeBook e-reader.

After charging the battery for 12 hours (twelve hours!!! luckily this is only necessary the first time you charge it) the reader was ready for the first books.  And now it lies waiting there with some twenty titles in its memory.  As I said in another post, I will use it for my Classics Project 2011, because I found a lot of these classics on the Gutenberg Project.  But I will also use it for reading PDF’s when I start my Ph. D.

I don’t know if reading books on the BeBook will be the same as reading the paper editions, but I will let you know.

5 Comments

  1. I don’t know I even heard of BeBook, so I’m curious to know what you think of it. Maybe you can do a post in a few weeks’ time to let us know?

    • I’ll surely let you know. I’ve read a little yesterday and that was ok. After a while I forgot I wasn’t reading a ‘real’ book. So I think that in a while it will feel as natural to reed on this BeBook as to read a paper version. I must say I mainly bought it to read PDF-files, but now with this Classics Project 2011 I engaged in I can use it to read e-books too and that is good, or otherwise I would have had to buy a lot of books and it would have cost me a fortune, while many of them you can download for free.
      Thanks for your comment!

      • There are loads of classics that you can get for free now as ebooks, so if you want to read a lot of them, then buying a ereader is a clever move, just for that. And then the other uses you get out of it, it will be worth it, for sure!

  2. I love reading PDFs for my studies on my ereader, though I have a Sony instead of a BeBook. And ah, the classics 🙂

    • I hate reading long texts on my computer and I find it a waste of paper and ink to print all these pdf’s; so I think my e-reader will be worth its money. And I’ve almost finished my first Classic for my Classics Project 2011 and I have to say I love to read on the e-reader. I think the Sony e-readers are perhaps better than the one I got, but it is ok for me.

Leave a Reply

