Classics Project 2011

I’ve decided to join in with Sasha from Sasha & The Silverfish and Iris from Iris on Books in the Classics Project 2011 whereby I will try to read as much books as possible from the NYRB Classics and the Oxford World’s Classics before December 2011.  I looked at the lists involved and noticed that from the first I hadn’t read that many books and that in all this list had less titles I wanted to read than the one from Oxford.  Therefore I cannot say yet which books I am going to read from this Oxford list, because there are so many that I would like to read.  I’ve marked only one, because I have it already at home on my TBR-pile.

NYRB Classics List – Have Read:

  1. The Inferno of Dante Alighieri
  2. Georges Simenon, Monsieur Monde Vanishes
  3. Carlo Collodi, Pinocchio
  4. H.G. Wells, The War of the Worlds
  5. Georges Simenon, The Widow

NYRB Classics List: – To Read:

  • Alexandros Papadiamantos, The Murderess
  • William Roughead, Classic Crimes
  • Arthur Conan Doyle, The Exploits and Adventures of Brigadier Gerard
  • Rebecca West, The Fountain Overflows
  • Anton Chekhoc, Peasants and other stories
  • Jean Renoir, Renoir. My Father
  • Georges Simenon, The Strangers in the House

 

Oxford World’s Classics – Have Read:

  1. René Descartes, A Discourse on the Method
  2. Edmund Burke, A Philosophical Enquiry into the Origin of our Ideas of the Sublime and Beautiful
  3. Arthur Conan Doyle, A Study in Scarlet
  4. Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities
  5. Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass
  6. David Hume, An Enquiry Concerning Human Understanding
  7. Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina
  8. Jules Verne, Around the World in Eighty Days
  9. Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil
  10. Immanuel Kant, Critique of Judgement
  11. Charles Dickens, David Copperfield
  12. Miguel de Cervantes, Don Quixote de la Mancha
  13. Bram Stoker, Dracula
  14. Friedrich Nietzsche, Ecce Homo
  15. Jane Austen, Emma
  16. J.W. Von Goethe, Faust
  17. Mary Shelley, Frankenstein
  18. Charles Dickens, Great Expectations
  19. Jonathan Swift, Gulliver’s Travels
  20. Hans Christian Andersen, Hans Andersen’s Fairy Tales
  21. Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre
  22. Pierre Choderlos de Laclos, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
  23. Gustave Flaubert, Madame Bovary
  24. Jane Austen, Mansfield Park
  25. Charles Dickens, Martin Chuzzlewit
  26. Virginia Woolf, Mrs. Dalloway
  27. Charles Dickens, Oliver Twist
  28. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice
  29. Daniel Defoe, Robinson Crusoe
  30. Jane Austen, Sense and Sensibility
  31. Arthur Conan Doyle, Sherlock Holmes, (The Penguin Complete Sherlock Holmes)
  32. D.H. Lawrence, Sons and Lovers
  33. Friedrich Nietzsche, The Birth of Tragedy
  34. Franz Kafka, The Castle
  35. Giovanni Boccaccio, The Decameron

 

Oxford World’s Classcis: – To Read

  • Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

I guess I won’t be buying all these books (not only would it cost me a fortune, but it would also be a problem where to stack all of them); I intend to listen to some of them and to buy others as e-books.

15 Comments

  1. I have these NYRB classics on my wishlist as well:

    # Rebecca West, The Fountain Overflows
    # Anton Chekhoc, Peasants and other stories
    # Jean Renoir, Renoir. My Father

    And I agree, there are too many OWC classics to name. But I do feel the same about NYRB as well, so many to choose from!

    I do intend to buy the classics I put up since part of the challenge to me is that both publishers have such lovely editions of these classics and I love the look of them on my bookshelves.

    As for your linkback, would you mind changing my name to Iris and Iris on Books?

    • Sorry for mentioning your name wrong!
      I really look forward to reading some classics; thanks again for the challenge. Of course I tell myself regurarly that I will read more classics, but most of the time I tend to forget, because there are so many books I want to read. But with a challenge I feel a little more obligated, so I hope this will be a good year for reading classics. I would love to buy them all, but as I mentioned before, first of alle it would cost a lot of money, and I want to be able to buy new books as well, and secondly, my bookshelves are getting a little overcrowded.
      It’s really odd that I know so little books of the NYRB list; perhaps these are more ‘American’ books that haven’t been published in Belgium or Europe. I don’t know. Leeswammes, who is from the Netherlands also said she knew so little of these books.

      • It is no surprise really, as NYRB focuses on what is commonly called “forgotten classics”.

      • That explains a lot, of course!

      • I didn’t know that either. Forgotten classics… Hmm. Depends on your definition of classics. I thought part of the definition was that they are still being read today!

      • I thought so too! But perhaps they haven’t been published in Europe?? Could that be?

  2. Good luck with the challenge! I haven’t heard of many books on the NYRB list. How odd! The other list, I’ve heard of a lot of them and even read one or two.

    You have read A LOT of classics! Wow! Is that the genre you prefer?

    I guess the library should have some of the books you still want to read. And maybe the Gutenberg project has some e-books for free?

  3. What an interesting project! And a great challenge!
    Many familiar titles but not all.
    Some work for me there too I believe 😉

    Have fun with ‘Little Women’, it was my favourite for many years. Especially the character of the writer-daughter ‘Jo’, with her writing- and teaching ambitions.

    • It is indeed a great challenge, I hope I’ll find the time to read many classics, because I know reading new books is always very tempting (you tend to think that later on you’ll have time to read the classics, but of course, later never comes). When I find free e-books of some good classics on Gutenberg, and if you’re interested, I can let you know.
      Jo was always my favourite character in the movie (with a very young Elizabeth Taylor), that I saw a couple of times. I hope the book has the same attractiveness.
      Thanks for your comment!

  4. Well, I felt the same when I saw the NYRB list: how odd; I know so little of these books; I guess it’s because they have a lot of non-fiction, and that’s a genre I don’t read that much, I only tend to read philosophical books or books on art.
    I intended to go to the library (although I really prefer to own all the books I read, but in this case, I’ll have to make an exception). And checking Gutenberg Project had also crossed my mind. I think there will be some of the titles there.
    Classics are not necessarily the books I prefer, but I think when you’re interested in literature, classics are a must.
    Thanks for your comment!

  5. Funny to have this discussion in English when all of us are Dutch! 🙂

  6. Thanks for joining in with the madness, haha. “As many of these books as possible” sounds like such a daunting task for me, but I’m too stubborn to let go of that goal. [I mean, I already let go of the 50 + 25 number, haha.] Really looking forward to sharing more book love with you. :]

    • I think it’s a great challenge and luckily most of these classics are worth the read. I am sure I am going to enjoy this.
      Thanks for your comment.

Trackbacks

  1. (E)-Book Read! Middlemarch « The Books of Life!

Leave a Reply

