I am saying Goodbye and Thank You!

Perhaps some of you have noticed already that  I haven’t posted a review in a while.  The fact is that I don’t seem to be able to keep up with my reviews at the moment.  I have posted some on GoodReads and LibraryThing, but to do it also on my blog, is a bit too much at the moment, because I just don’t have the time.  All of you who have a blog, know that it takes a lot of time to keep it updated, time that I don’t seem to have.

So I am going to stop for a while.  However, there will be some more Discover a Book posts on the 15th of each month, because I have some more scheduled.  I will also try to keep updating my Reviews-, Challenges- and Books Read in 2012-pages.  But the links will lead you to either GoodReads (books in English) or LibraryThing (books in Dutch).  And when I write a review there,  I will tweet about it (@NadyneN).

And of course I will keep following all your lovely and interesting blogs, and comment there if I feel inclined to.

20 Comments

  1. I always wondered how you manage all the things you do and specifically all the reading. It’s a pity but quite understandable and luckely I am following you elsewhere :)

    • Yes, Hannie, I think it is a pity, but it took up too much of my time, and there are so many other things I have or want to do (like playing WF, e.g.).
      I have to admit that writing reviews is something I don’t particularly like. When I do it on GR or LT, it is more meant as a reminder for me, not as a review. So I want to keep doing that.
      And as you say, we encounter each other through other media, so it is not as if I will disappear from the web completely. :)
      Thanks for your comment!

  2. I must admit I often feel tempted to reduce. I can totally understand your decision. As you say it is a lot of work. As long as it feels like fun it’s still a good thing but once it starts to actually feel like work it’s better to stop for a while. Take care.

    • Thanks for your nice comment, Caroline.
      It had started to feel like work, or rather like an obligation, and I didn’t like that. Beside that, reviewing isn’t my strongest point, but I hoped I would get better at it. But the only thing that happened was that it started to feel like something I had to do, not something that was fun to do.
      And there are so many other things I am interested in… Like reading a book and enjoying it, in stead of worrying about the review I have to write about it. When I started my blog, practically no one was following me, so it didn’t seem to matter much if my reviews weren’t that regularly published or thought provoking. But when I got more followers I felt I had an obligation towards them.

      • I know exactly how you feel. I had this experience with readalongs. I signed up for too many and ddin’t want to let people down so had to force myself and that’s no good. It’s good that you told us about your decision because one always starts to wonder after a while.
        I’m sure you’re reviews got better but if youd don’t really enjoy doing it, it’s pointless. I know some bloggers who post mini-reviews which isn’t a bad thing. they still share if they liked or didn’t like something but without writing long summaries or an analysis. But at the end of the day it must be good for you.
        I any case, don’t feel bad about your decision.

      • I know what you mean; I follow a lot of blogs where I read about so many interesting and fun events and I want to participate in everyone of them. But of course that’s not possible, because there are other things that demand my attention. And like you say, you then have to force yourself, and it is no longer fun.
        I do feel better now that I have decided to stop with the blog for now but it took me a lot of time to come to a decision.
        Thanks for your supporting comment, and I will ‘see’ you at your blog, which I like a lot, by the way!

  3. I hope you can continue to enjoy your reading without the obligation to write about it and share what you are reading on Goodreads, will try and find you there. You have such wonderful interests, I hope you continue to enjoy them all.

    I am wary of participating in any kind of challenge or creating any kind of expected schedule for my blog despite all the messages out there saying why one should do this. I enjoy the freedom of reading and blogging when I can however the demands of work and family prevent me from putting any more pressure on myself thankfully.

    Bonne Continuation.

    • I still enjoy reading immensely… And I am glad I finally made the decission stopping with the blog, at least for now. I did enjoy it in a way, especially the interactions with other bloggers, but it takes so much time and effort. You can find me at GoodReads as Nadyne N, and on Twitter as NadyneN.
      I don’t think I follow you already on GoodReads. I will check this.
      And of course I will still be reading your blog, so it is not that I will be entirely gone from the web.
      Thanks for your nice comment.

  4. What a pity! But I know exactly how you feel, it can get like a chore at times. I have just come back from holiday in which I posted less than normal (scheduled posts) and I hope I can continue in that vein and not force myself to spend lots of time on the blog.

    • It’s not that I didn’t like to keep the blog up to date, I loved that, only thing is I spend too much time doing that, time I need to do things for my PhD.
      Perhaps I will ‘re-start’ the blog, when that is finished. You’ll never know.
      But of course I will continue reading and commenting on your blog and some others. That is too much fun to give up. :)

      • Good luck with the PhD! I don’t even think I knew about you doing that. What is it about? Good luck! I received mine 15 years ago. It was fun but finishing a thesis takes some hard work and dedication!

      • I am doing a research into the iconography (meaning and function) of the sphinx in the Ancient Near East, that is Egypt, Greece, Mesopotamia, the Levant. But at the moment I am working on an article that hopefully will be published; that is also about iconography, but this time about the Scorpion-man, a hybrid creature from Mesopotamia. That’s why I have to give up the blog, it distracted me too much.

      • NowI forgot to ask, what was your PhD about? And how long did you work on it?

      • Wow, sounds like a difficult topic – but then, you must be a (relative) expert if that’s your PhD topic! Good luck with the paper, I know it takes a lot of time and focus.

        My PhD was in Psycholinguistics, can’t remember the exact topic now (as I was sidetracked by something that I found even more interesting – which I also managed to add to the thesis). Something about processing of sentences (reading) and the order of words in the sentence. :-)

      • That must have been very interesting, Judith. Language is so intriguing, once you start thinking about it. You must have read Steven Pinker then?

      • Yes, but not for my PhD. His work is more on language acquisition, if I remember well (i.e, how children learn to speak).

  5. It is so hard to keep up. I hope you find something that works for you.

    • Yes it is a lot of work that takes a lot of time, time that I don’t seem to have. But I do still enjoy reading your and other blogs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

